A Blast From The Past

Or how I spent my first Sunday in December. Last year I remember hearing ads on the radio for The Enchanted Village and how it was now going to be located at Jordan’s Furniture. I can’t tell you all the things that jumped into my head at the mere mention of Jordan Marsh, where The Enchanted Village was originally located. That is the store my family had always shopped at, well, there and Filene’s but that is a memory for another day. The Enchanted Village was always at the Downtown Crossing store in Boston so I never got there. Our trips were always limited to the Jordan Marsh in the suburbs. Last year when I first heard the commercial I thought it would be a great holiday event but we never managed to get there. Avon is on the other side of Boston and we seldom find ourselves headed that way in December. But after hearing the commercial over and over again this year we decided to check it out.

https://i0.wp.com/img.photobucket.com/albums/v311/riley11598mom/IMG_0118-1.jpgUpon arriving about 25 minutes before the store was due to open we found ourselves standing in line with a few hundred other people. I knew this would be popular but I didn’t expect this and from the looks of a couple of the overwhelmed employees they were a bit surprised too. After our turn through The Enchanted Village, which was very cute, we decided that while we were there we should do it all. So The Husband and N took a ride on the Polar Express, a 4D movie ride, and then all of us went to see LITE, the laser light show. It was a lot of fun and really kicked off the holiday season for us.

https://i2.wp.com/img.photobucket.com/albums/v311/riley11598mom/IMG_0119.jpgBut the entire time we were there I kept thinking about the part of the ad that I actually remembered from my childhood. The thing that was the highlight of any trip to Jordan Marsh, the blueberry muffins. A trip to Jordan Marsh required stopping at the bakery to pick up muffins and I had to end my day with a box (or 3) of these glorious memories from my childhood. It is so rare for something from childhood to be just as good when revisited. The muffins are still excellent.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, this place, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Blast From The Past

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Since I didn’t grow up here, I never got to see the Enchanted Village at Jordan Marsh. However, we did go to see it a few years ago at Jordan’s Furniture and it was indeed enchanted! Glad you got to see it too. My favorite part is when the snow machines come on and it is actually snowing inside! I resisted the muffins that day, but now I’m sorry I didn’t get a few boxes! Sounds like you had an excellent day!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Awww, those muffins do sound amazing. I am so glad they remind you of your childhood, I wish I had something I could think of like that. It sounds like you had a great time and are truly ready for the holidays.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    What a special day! What good memories you made with your family. And those muffins look SOOO good. I’m glad they were as good as your memory of them… 🙂

    Like

  4. chrisknitsb says:

    Yummmmm, Muffins! I wish we had some Holiday traditions like that. But no one around here really does a big display. There are two “lights” displays where you drive through a park with brightly lit decorations, but that isn’t our thing.

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    OMGosh, what a fun place to visit and check everything out. Love it’s classic vibe and those muffins look so yummy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

