Obviously There Is Something Wrong With Me

https://i1.wp.com/img.photobucket.com/albums/v311/riley11598mom/large__07_01_2007_18_10_easy_raglan.jpg

Photo from the Green Mountain Spinnery web site

I was driving down the road yesterday heading off to do one of a million things that had to be done when suddenly into my mind jumped a sweater pattern and the uncontrollable urge to cast it on. What? I have a perfectly lovely purple cardigan on the needles that is knitting up so quickly. I could be wearing it by the end of the month, or maybe sooner. But instead of seeing myself in this warm wooly sweater I am having a fantasy about another sweater. It’s green, a pretty light green with a hint of blue to it and has cables in the ribbing. I have the pattern. I have the yarn. I’ve even knit most of the sweater before but in a dreadful yarn that I will not even discuss. It’s totally doable. I could see myself plain as day warm and toasty in this fantasy sweater. What is my problem? Why can I not retain a positive relationship with my current sweater, whatever sweater that is? Why do I always want to cheat on it with another? It’s a good thing I’m not like this with men.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Obviously There Is Something Wrong With Me

  1. Marilyn says:

    I’m fickle with my knitting too…there are just so many things I want to knit and I want to give them all a start at least. 😉
    It is a really cute sweater pattern….

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I have the same issues with my WIPs. I am always day dreaming of a sweater I want to knit, never a specific one, just a sweater. I hope you figure out your dilemma, I’d hate to see your cardigan go unloved.

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    I have this problem all the time – it’s why I always have so many things on the needles!

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Maybe you just want to put your current sweater aside so that I can catch up with you. On the other hand, you are really, really close to finishing your current sweater and if you kept going, maybe that would give my incentive to finish my sweater too….. You can still fantasize about the new sweater, though!

    Like

  5. Renee Anne says:

    I had the same problem with socks last night. I have a pair on the needles, I just finished up a pair, and I have my shawl and giraffe to work on. Unfortunately, I was looking at a skein of yarn and the urge to cast on was too great…….so I started a pair of Monkey Socks. ::sigh::

    Like

  6. Teresa C says:

    Wait a minute! Am I reading my blog now? 😉

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    Finding new projects to CO is always the funnest! You are wicked!

    Like

  8. Pumpkin says:

    Knit. It. Because it is obviously meant to be.

    Like

  9. chrisknitsb says:

    OMG!!! I bet your husband is VERY glad you aren’t like this with men. But I feel you. I am trolling Ravelry looking at patterns and I have 2 very enjoyable knits on the needles! And one not so enjoyable that has been in time out since Sept. But I still want to cast on a ton of other things!!!!! At first I thought it was a photo of you and the daughter. LOL!

    Like

  10. Janet says:

    That sweater looks warm and cozy. I can’t help with your “problem”. I have it too. There’s a sweater in the basket that I started in July. I can’t even count the number of things I’ve cast on (and finished) since then.

    Like

Leave a Reply

