Well That Was Quick

Last years tree photo because I’m not ready for the tree yet.

I can’t believe how quickly a long holiday weekend can pass. We spent two of those days at home just hanging around and doing, basically, nothing. Now that Thanksgiving has passed we are headed straight towards the craziness that is Christmas, I am not ready. Once upon a time I was that person who had completed all the shopping and wrapping before Thanksgiving. I don’t know what happened to her. She is gone. I am just now thinking about what to buy for who. My list has gotten shorter and the budget has shrunk. I think I’m looking for something more out of Christmas, not what the Black Friday ads offer. Maybe we’ll try something different this year.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Well That Was Quick

  1. Marilyn says:

    We need to remember the Reason for the Season! I think our lives would be more stress-free if we did. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Wow, you scared me there for a minute!! I thought you already had your tree up, decorated and gifts purchased and wrapped! I know what you mean, I too used to be that person who had everything finished by the end of Thanksgiving weekend – no more…Now I am the person who would rather be knitting! Our list is shorter too and out of state family no longer receive a box of goodies (postage for boxes has gotten outrageous and we’d rather put our money toward the actual gift). Gift cards are always well received and only require a quick stop at the grocery store gift card kiosk where you can find something for anyone on your list. A book of postage stamps are a favorite of those who like to send cards and letters and who pay bills by snail mail. As for an alternative to the gift giving frenzy for the immediate family, how about a day or two “away” (but doesn’t have to be far away) doing something together that you’ve never done before?? Something that everyone would enjoy and remember far longer than a physical gift? This might be a hard sell for the kids, but they just might surprise you, as long as you assure them there will be a few things to open on Christmas. One of our favorite (and free!) traditions is to pick out a few books, DVD’s, etc. for each other at the library, wrap them up especially pretty, and put them under the tree – it is always fun and interesting to see what the other one picks out, you get the satisfaction of ripping off the paper, and the stuff has to be returned in a few weeks (no long return lines, either!) so your house doesn’t have to absorb more stuff. This might not work for everyone, but we are easily amused! Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Pumpkin says:

    Such a pretty tree! I’m sure this year’s will be even better! My family doesn’t really celebrate Christmas anymore, we are all so sick of the over-commercialization. We just enjoy spending a day off together.

    Like

  4. chrisknitsb says:

    I am never ready early and have no plans to be this year. I wish we could pare down our buying, but too many people to buy for. That’s comes from a large family. But I will enjoy the season either way.

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    Last year we lagged and the tree was up around mid-December. I wanted to put ours up asap so we could enjoy it since my husband will be itchin’ to take it down once it’s 2013.
    I can’t believe how you used to have holiday shopping done! Halloween and Thanksgiving always seem to creep up on me and then I get slammed by the impending Christmas.
    I’m trying to spend less on gifts this year but make sure they’re meaningful. Christmas should be about a little something but meaningful while birthdays should be more special.

    Like

Leave a Reply

