Cardigan: Day 2

I don’t intend to talk about nothing but the cardigan but it’s the only photographable item at the moment so it’s what’s for blogging. The color is closer than yesterday but still not right. It’s one of those colors. See the lovely row of increases. It’s my favorite part of this pattern. I love the way the increases shape the raglan yoke. Yes, I’m that easily entertained.

I was looking back at last year trying to find some mention of the Thanksgiving meal with the in-laws. We had our gathering yesterday. The feeling of dread I had for the whole thing was lessened once I was there but when my FIL started talking about those who aren’t with us anymore and couldn’t continue I started to revisit my thought that maybe it’s time to find a new place to go. The “ghosts” there are just way to vivid. That is the last place we spent time with my BIL before he began his very quick slide. The Husband and I had a quick conversation when the email arrived from his mother a month or so ago about how difficult it was going to be. We revisited the conversation on the way home and I think he is going to suggest a different location for next year. We can’t be the only ones who think it’s time for a new tradition.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cardigan: Day 2

  1. Natalie says:

    Look at those gorgeously neat increases – beautiful 🙂

    I think you’re right about changing things up – my mum, brother and I haven’t had Christmas at home for the last 2 years (and plan the same this year) since my dad died – it’s too painful to see what’s missing.

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    When I made my raglon cardigan last year I felt the same way, it’s so fun to see it increase !

    Like

  3. chrisknits says:

    Loving that cardy! I need to suck it up and sew the last sleeve in my new bulky jacket. As to the holiday situation. A change of venue might be the trick, but memories and maudlin attitudes do not change with the scenery. Maybe the FIL is suffering depression? Hope you are able to find a solution that can offer everyone comfort.

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    The increases are beautiful! I can’t wait until I am at that part of the pattern – maybe soon! Well, I guess I have to cast on first….
    Somtimes the “first” holidays without a loved one are the hardest and feelings are still very raw. It might get a little better next year, but a change of location might help too. The important thing is to be together…..

    Like

  5. Marilyn says:

    Hope you found the 5 minutes to finish the socks!
    The cardigan is looking good and the color sounds great. 😉
    I hope that next Thanksgiving is a happier one for your family…
    xoxo

    Like

  6. Susan says:

    I hear you on the changing the holiday thing, but I find that my family is reluctant. I would love to give up the Thanksgiving meal and do something different, but they won’t go for it, yet they threw all the Christmas traditions out over the years. Some day, I will be the old curmudgeon at the head of the family and I will get my way and my younger relatives will blog about it, lol!

    Like

  7. Pumpkin says:

    Just when I think I get that color, it surprises me again, such a tricky colorway it is. I’m very sorry to hear the stress surrounding the holiday, I wish you all the best.

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    Holidays are hard when you’ve had loved ones not there anymore. A new venue would be good to create a new chapter. You can still remember the old somehow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

