Embracing November: Turkey Soup

It’s hot!

As I am reluctantly dragged into the cold weather that will be our constant for the next 5-6 months, I keep trying to come up with comforting, warm food. When I was at the grocery store the other day I spotted the large display of frozen turkeys and immediately thought not of the glorious smell of the house on Thanksgiving but of the days after when we enjoy the leftovers in the form of turkey soup. Mixed in with the sale chicken I found a turkey breast and brought it home with the intention of treating it as leftovers. I roasted it and that evening we had turkey sandwiches. The next day I boiled what remained and made soup. It was exactly what I had hoped. We ate a couple of meals with fresh bakery bread. In my next life I will make my own soup and bake my own bread to be served the same day. I’ll also have a real kitchen, but I digress. It was so tasty. I was sad to see us reach the bottom of the pot.

My recipe is pretty simple but has no measurements. Basically I boil the carcass for a couple of hours in enough water to cover it. I remove the meat/bones and strain the broth just incase there are any small bones. Into the pot with the broth I put some sliced carrots and celery and some salt and pepper. When the meat is cool I pick it from the bones and drop it in the pot. Normally I let it simmer on low for a few hours with a lid. About an hour before it’s time to eat I add either pasta or rice. If I want something fancy I’ll add egg noodles. What I don’t do is skim the fat off. Fat=Flavor and there really isn’t that much. I like to serve it with bread, something crusty and rustic is really nice, but it’s also great with crackers. Yum!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Embracing November: Turkey Soup

  1. Lisa says:

    That sounds delicious! thanks for sharing yet another great recipes šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Looks/sounds delish! I just wish DH liked soup as much as I do…

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Yes, there’s only two good things about the cold weather – hot soup (yours looks yummy!) and hot chocolate! Okay, three things – knitting sweaters

    Like

  4. susan says:

    Yum! Love leftover turkey!!!

    Like

  5. elpalchica says:

    I made a lovely minestrone Sunday, and pumpkin pie. This weather is perfect for soup!

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    Comfort is always great to have on a cold day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

