In The Morning

Oatmeal: It’s what’s for breakfast

Monday through Friday things are pretty much the same around here. The Husband gets up and goes to work before anyone else gets up. N arises very shortly thereafter and I linger in bed until 6:30. H stays in bed until 15 minutes before she has to be somewhere. N and I do the usual morning stuff and at the appointed time we head out for the walk to school. Our walk is the same every day and I return home the same route. What changes along our route is the things we see. Most days it’s all the same: the people, the houses. the view. Today was weird. I like to make note of the weird. The sidewalk is pretty much covered with beautifully colored leaves but in the bare spots there are still things to find. There was a dog tag for “Max”. I don’t know Max so I left the tag on the border of a yard by the sidewalk and maybe someone will claim it. A bit further along was a rather large pile of dog poo. Was it from Max? We’ll never know. We then crossed our second street and at this point I can see the crossing guard so I could let N run off alone but I don’t. I like having a few more minutes with him when it’s just us. In a clearing on the sidewalk just beyond the no longer abandoned house that is bustling with workmen there are a bunch of teeny tiny orthodontic elastics. Easily 15 or 20 of them.  Why? We cross the last street before the school saying “good morning” to the crossing guard. Mixed among the leaves are 3 bright blue dog poo bags, all of them empty. I said “Have a nice day” to N and turned around and made my way home. Weird. The whole way I just kept wondering how all this stuff appeared overnight and what could the story possibly be.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In The Morning

  1. chrisknits says:

    Max has a teenage owner who took him out on a walk last night. Only, Max got spooked by a goblin and the teenager, who was trying to put a band on their braces, lost control of the leash, which made them throw up their hands and scatter the elastic all over the sidewalk. As the dog broke loose and ran off, the teen ran after dropping the poo bags. Then Max calmed down, but needed to do his business, so he stopped on the walk and did his duty. The teen caught up with Max, and in the struggle to gain control of the leash didn’t realize the tag fell off? It could happen.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    The oatmeal looks good…to bad I’ve already had breakfast or I’d make some for myself!
    Maybe everything is related to each other like chrisknits said. 😀

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    I have oatmeal too in the morn but mine’s instant.
    I find it so rude and declasse when ppl don’t pick up after their dogs.

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    I hope whoever Max is he’s ok. That is weird to find all those random things on what should have been a normal walk to school.

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I just know that chrisknits is right about how it all happened!! 🙂 I wonder what you’ll see on Monday???

    Like

  6. Pumpkin says:

    That is one of the more strange stories I’ve heard recently, sounds like some of the things I saw at college, it’s that random. On another note, I cannot imagine any better breakfast than oatmeal, love it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.