Weekend In Review

It was one of our usual whirlwind weekends that makes me long for the peaceful days of summer or a house bounding blizzard. I like quiet weekends spent at home but rarely do we have those around here once school starts. N had activities both Saturday and Sunday. Saturday was the monthly visit at Tufts. During the school year we meet with a group of Korean students and children adopted from Korea. There is always some delicious Korean food and really fun games. The social time is pretty great too. Sunday was the cub scout rocket launch. The morning was very rainy so we weren’t sure if the event would take place but luckily the clouds parted and the rain stopped long enough for the kids to shoot off their rockets. Sadly I have no photos.

My high point of the weekend was a quick trip to Hobby Lobby in Manchester NH. Once I knew it was there I had to go see what it was all about. The store is HUGE. I have never been in such a large craft store. I thought the seasonal sections were fantastic. They had everything you could want and then some. The other areas of the store were OK. I did think the yarn department was pretty lacking. Compared to other areas of the store, the yarn seemed to be an afterthought. I did see some things I’d never seen before and managed to pick up just one skein of yarn. Patons Lace in the color patina. I plan to make a Wingspan with this for myself.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, knits, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekend In Review

  1. Lisa says:

    Patons lace is nice, but I will admit that Hobby Lobby does severely lack in the yarn section. They don’t seem to really care about what they sell or it’s quality. Good luck with the wingspan!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Aren’t the rockets fun to watch? The boys made lots of rockets…some with parachutes etc.
    I’ve been to Hobby Lobby a time or two. It IS huge but this one here is lacking in the yarn dept also.
    I didn’t know Patons had laceweight. Cool!

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Sounds like a busy but fun weekend! Glad you got to check out the Hobby Lobby and I can’t wait to see your Wingspan!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Hobby Lobby sounds like such a fun place! Perhaps equivalent to a Michael’s?
    I have a soft spot for Korean culture since my hubbie’s Korean. Ann yeong kah sayo!

    Like

  5. Pumpkin says:

    Oh that yarn will make a gorgeous Wingspan! Also may I say that I am so super jealous that you got Korean food recently, that stuff is yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

