A Hot Steaming Bowl Of Soup

Lentil Soup

 

1 onion, chopped

¼ c. olive oil

2 carrots, diced

2 stalks celery, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp dried oregano

1 bay leaf

1 tsp dried basil

1 14.5 oz can crushed tomato

2 c. dry lentils

8 c. water

½ c. spinach, chopped

2 Tbsp vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil over medium heat. Add onions, carrots and celery and cook until onion is tender stirring regularly. Add garlic, oregano, bay leaf and basil. Cook 2 minutes. Add lentils, water and tomatoes. Bring to a boil and simmer for 1 hour. Add spinach. Cook until wilted. Add vinegar, salt and pepper. Serve.

When the weather turns colder I look for ways to warm us from both the outside and the inside. I can’t remember where I found this recipe but I know it was online. I’ve been making it for at least 5 years and of course over time it has evolved. Here are the things I do differently: I put in way more carrots and celery, like 6 of each. I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes since we like the tomato taste a lot. I forgot to buy the spinach so I skipped it entirely and I also skipped the vinegar. On a cold day with a nice loaf of crusty bread this is delicious.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Hot Steaming Bowl Of Soup

  1. Pumpkin says:

    That looks amazing! I’m a huge fan of lentils(I currently have three different varieties in my pantry). I’m definitely going to be saving this one, particularly because it looks slow cooker friendly too.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    That looks yummy! I’ve been thinking chicken soup but maybe this is the one I should do instead! 😀

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    That does sound sooo good! What about the broth though? Is it formed from the tomato juice?

    Like

  4. chrisknits says:

    Yummm!! I am planning potato soup for tonight. Always a favorite here.

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That looks so delicious!

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    This looks really great, Karen. I’d sprinkle some Parm and dip some crusty baguette in that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

