Cathartic Release*

Dear Parents at my child’s school.

WTF is wrong with you people? You are all driving me insane. No wonder your children behave badly. Here is a list of complains I have this week. Yes, just this week.

  • In a school zone the speed limit is 20mph and on school property it is 10mph. You wouldn’t have to speed if you left your house a few minutes earlier. Also, I’m crossing the street here in the crosswalk. The law says I have the right of way. STOP! Don’t go around me.
  • When dropping your child off at school pull up and let the child open their own door and walk to the school. If your kids can’t do these things without help park in the lot and walk them in. Don’t leave your car in the fire lane blocking everyone else while you open the car door and then the school door. Now I can see why your kids can’t follow the rules.
  • No matter what you may think a 10 second walk in the rain won’t cause your child to melt.
  • Again, rain + leaves on the ground= slippery road. Slow down before you kill someone.
  • A party for 9 and 10 year olds should be held in the afternoon, not 6-10 on a Friday night. How will you set appropriate limits in middle school and high school when you have already gone off the rails now.
  • A thong in elementary school is just wrong.
  • I almost forgot the U turn in the intersection around the crossing guard. That was special.

Sincerely, Fed Up Mother

*I know my skin has been a little thin lately but if I bite my tongue much longer I will have bitten it off.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cathartic Release*

  1. Michelle says:

    I feel you’re pain sister! I live on the same street as our middle/high school and the elementary school. It is SHOCKING to see how animal like these parents can be. Every day this same mini van parks in front of my house, in the middle of the street blocking traffic, to pick up and drop off her kids. She has her music so loud my windows vibrate. If her music isn’t that loud then she’s screaming at her kids and if she’s not doing that then she is talking really loudly into her cell phone….and the “great” part is she is parked half blocking my driveway…trapping me in! How rude! That’s just the tip of the iceberg. I could go on and on and on! You definitely take your life into your own hands when walking down my street during drop off and pick up time.

    Like

  2. Pumpkin says:

    Oh wow, yet another reason why children are not the thing for me, being forced to interact with other people’s children.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I am glad you got that all out and hope it made you feel a little better! I don’t know what people are thinking – hopefully it won’t take an accident to make people stop and think a little. Obviously, everything revolves around the parent’s schedules and not what’s best for the kids. What is up with the thong??? That’s just not right!!! Enjoy the long weekend – 3 days off until you have to run the gauntlet again – be careful!

    Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    I’m so glad we live in a small town and didn’t have to deal with that kind of thing. Uff. And you know the worst part? Nothing is usually done about stupid driving until something disasterous happens.

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    Word! We have the same freakin’ problems here at my daughters’ school. We live 6 mi away but we leave about 45 minutes+ before school starts, okay? I always am conscious of the time after I volunteer. If it’s still the time where you’re prohibited from making a U-turn, I just make a left into a certain avenue and make a 3-point turn there. And hello ppl! There’s plenty of parking. Park and walk your fat ass with your child to the gate for goodness sakes!

    Like

  6. kemtee says:

    Hizzoner takes HSH to the bus stop now. He told me how bad the other parents were getting (established protocol at our stop is to wait until the bus is loaded and in motion before getting your own butt in gear), but I didn’t believe him until recently. Not only have these other parents decided to drop and run, one of them has taken to squirming in between the bus and parked cars, letting her kid get out, and leaving quickly, nearly taking out the kids walking to the bus.

    Last week, she hit my husband’s truck. He’s not hard to spot; it’s a big, dark, Ram 1500 4×4. She then took off. No visible damage, save a couple of scratches. But that’s not the point. It could have been him. It could have been my daughter. Or any one of the other many kids walking through the parking lot.

    Hizzoner is a quiet, peaceful sort; you really have to do something serious to get him to flip out. But he stewed until the next day, when he lit into her like white on rice.

    Worst part? Her proclaimed innocence. Almost Urkel-like in her repeating, “Did I do that?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

