Always Look On The Bright Side

I won’t have to cook for a couple of weeks. Yes. That is my stove, the one piece of modern equipment in my kitchen. A few months ago there was a loud pop and smoke when I preheated the oven and the temperature wouldn’t go up over 400. So I called the repair guy and he replaced the bottom heating element thinking the problem was solved. Unfortunately the temperature was still off by 65 degrees. The repair guy returned and replaced a couple more parts but still the oven wasn’t working correctly. His final suggestion was replacing the control panel. He said he’d call when he got the part. I didn’t hear from him a few weeks so I called him only to find out that they don’t make control panels for this stove any more (and it’s only 10 years old).

I see the problem right here

We limped through the summer with meals either burning or taking twice as long to cook as they should while we decided what to do. I really like this stove and after spending nearly half what it would cost to replace it having work done on it I just didn’t have the heart to dump it and buy a new one. I mentioned it to a friend who called me back a few days later to suggest having the control panel rebuilt. I looked into the companies she suggested and picked the one that gave a good warranty and had good reviews. The husband and I took the stove apart and he put the control panel in the mail. It should take about 2 weeks total to have the panel rebuilt and returned. Let’s hope this solves the problem. In the meantime I think I’ll be ordering some take out.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Always Look On The Bright Side

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Gee, the way things are made these days, I’m surprised you got 10 years out of it! 🙂 Hope the rebuilt control panel will do the trick. In the meantime, enjoy the take out! (Bamboo House in W-fld is excellent if you like Chinese.)

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Enjoy your cooking vacation! 😀

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    Oh boy to lose an essential piece of equipment! What a hassle. But thank goodness for take out. Enjoy the lull.

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    Or it might be a good chance to try salads. I used to hate salads until I actually saw all that you can do with them. You could also get a toaster oven in the meantime (I use mine for pretty much everything). Good luck with the stove situation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

