Another Thing I Knit

H does this LARPing thing on the weekends where she and her friends dress up in medieval style clothing and fight with foam swords that they make themselves. The whole thing is very foreign to me but I do understand the need for things to look correct(ish) to the time period. I thought a shawl would be a handy addition to her wardrobe. I knit this using Kay Meadors Kay’s Tess of the D’Urbervilles Shawl. The yarn is a couple of skeins of Lion Brand Fisherman’s wool in soft cream I had leftover from another project.

The pattern was a simple knit and very well written. I love the way the shawl is tied in back so the ends aren’t just hanging around. The yarn is a bit scratchy but should soften up some once it gets a good soaking and is worn for a while.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Thing I Knit

  1. Cookie says:

    I feel so much better having read your text. It made me sad to see that shawl with no context. However! Now I get it and think it’s lovely, and you’re wonderful for knitting it! I love shawls that tie like that. So practical!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Very lovely indeed, good job 🙂 I bet she will love it.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Nice shawl…it looks perfect for it’s purpose. And you got it modeled too! Yay!

    Like

  4. elpalchica says:

    A good soaking in the forest you mean?

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Very cool shawl!

    Like

  6. Pumpkin says:

    I like the construction, I’m sure it will be perfect for the occasion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

