Sew, What?

I never seem to have enough project bags for all my knitting. I have used plastic zipper bags in the past when I’ve run out of real bags but they are only practical for projects kept at home. I wanted something nicer that would be good for taking out of the house. I found this tutorial online and decided to give it a try. It’s not my first attempt at sewing but I will say I have sewn less than 10 projects in the past and maybe 2 of those turned out usable. They were no where near perfect. The same can be said for this box bag I made. It’s the first zipper project ever. Overall it turned out OK and is perfectly usable. It’s just the details I’m unhappy with. First I’d like a smaller bag. Next time I’ll but a smaller zipper since that is the key to the sizing. I’d also like a narrower handle. This one is very large and feels uncomfortable in my hand. But I am pleased that I was able to take a pile of fabric, thread and a zipper and turn it into something I can actually use. I’m sure I’ll try this again.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in crafty goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sew, What?

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed! Very nice job. I wish I knew how to sew…..

    Like

  2. Pumpkin says:

    Very nice! You have definitely made a very useable project!

    Like

  3. Vanessa says:

    Lovely! I need to make a box bag for my stuff as well.

    Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    It looks great! Zippers are one of the harder things to learn in sewing. Yours looks super.
    Isn’t it fun to take flat fabric and turn it into something 3D? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

