Happy 100th Birthday Julia Child

When I was a child living in the broadcast area of WGBH back in the days before cable TV I watched The French Chef on Saturday afternoon when the cartoons were over and all the sports had started. Little did I know back then sitting on the rug in front of the big black and white TV with my Barbies, I was watching someone who would become an icon. The child in me thought it was fun to watch the lady cook. Today that lady, the one who I watched by default, would be 100 years old. Happy Birthday Julia Child!

If you’re interested in Julia Child the History Chicks have just posted a wonderful podcast about her life. I highly recommend it.

FYI: Sorry to have been MIA. I’ll be back soon.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in What was. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy 100th Birthday Julia Child

  1. Michelle says:

    I remember doing the same thing! And I loved my Barbie dolls too 😉

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    Julia rocks! You okay out there? Haven’t heard from you for weeks.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Happy Birthday to Julia…I watched her too. 😀
    Glad to see you back…I was wondering how your summer was going!

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It’s amazing to see the very simple kitchen she worked in back in the black and white tv days – she didn’t need fancy appliances or cookware to create amazing food!

    Like

Leave a Reply

