Out Of The Recesses Of My Mind

Sometimes I don’t know how my mind works. I’ll be doing something and out of nowhere something will pop into my brain and I am distracted for a few minutes while I contemplate that thought. The other day it was Crissy and Velvet.

Check out the bangs

When I was a kid I had super short hair as evidenced by this photo I have shown you before. But I always wanted long hair. It was the 1960s and every girl had long hair, except me. I’ll never forget when I saw ads on TV for Crissy. She had long hair that you could make grow! I was totally in. I had to have Crissy and Santa brought her that Christmas. I was over the moon! The next year I got Velvet. My cousin had Kerry and Brandi. We played with those dolls for hours, changing their clothes and doing their hair. I have great memories from that time. Did you have a Crissy doll or did you always want one?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Out Of The Recesses Of My Mind

  1. Marilyn says:

    I didn’t have a Crissy doll but I too had short hair! My dad wanted it that way when I was little. When I hit high school it was long like everyone else at the time!

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I never had any dolls actually, I was such a tom boy.
    I know that feeling about getting ideas and contemplating them for a bit, I’ve been doing that at work pretty much everyday, that’s how boring my job is.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I had a Velvet doll when I was little! I too was fascinated by being able to make her hair short or long (since I had curly, wild hair, I loved Velvet’s smooth, straight hair!). Fast forward to about 10 years ago when my mom moved from my childhood home and guess what? Yup, she had kept Velvet all those years! I now have Velvet (in her original box, no less!) tucked away in the closet. Want to come play dolls???!

    Like

Leave a Reply

