Garden 2012

Look dirt!

So I had to take my mother to the garden center to pick up plants for Memorial Day. Just walking around the garden center makes my slightly green thumb throb with the need to plant. I picked up just a few vegetable plants to get the garden started. The above photo shows the garlic that was planted last fall. With the super mild winter we had it did really well. I really didn’t expect it to survive since I hadn’t mulched it or anything. Now I have to figure out what happens next. The two little clumps are cucumbers and zucchini. We didn’t have much luck with these last year but I am an optimistic gardener so I planted them again.

More dirt!

In the next photo we have a couple of marigold, tomatoes and a green pepper plant. Unfortunately shortly after I planted the garden something got in and nibbled at a few of the tomato plants and the marigolds. There is probably enough of the plants left to survive, nothing was entirely eaten. It looks like Mother Nature isn’t going to be the only challenge I’ll face this year.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garden 2012

  1. Pumpkin says:

    I’m a sucker for garden centers too, I completely understand. You might have some gardening challenges coming your way, but I know that you will still end up with a great garden!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Here’s wishing you an amazing growing season! It’s still weird around here…I just heard that the field corn came up but has totally stopped growing. It’s pretty cold here again.
    Something ate marigolds?!? Wow. I wonder what that could have been…I didn’t think anything liked marigolds.

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Man, everyone is talking about their gardens! I do wish I had one. I can’t wait to hear more about your gardening endeavors, I know you will have some luck with it, despite your challenges, so just keep it up 🙂

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Looks like a good start to a nice garden!

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    Wishing you luck! Do you need fertilizer or anything?

    Like

Leave a Reply

