Crafting Balance: 3KCBWDAY7

Crafting Balance 
Are you a knitter or a crocheter, or are you a bit of both? If you are monogamous in your yarn-based crafting, is it because you do not enjoy the other craft or have you simply never given yourself the push to learn it? Is it because the items that you best enjoy crafting are more suited to the needles or the hook? Do you plan on ever trying to take up and fully learn the other craft? If you are equally comfortable knitting as you are crocheting, how do you balance both crafts? Do you always have projects of each on the go, or do you go through periods of favouring one over the other? How did you come to learn and love your craft(s)?

I’m having a hard time coming up with a way to start this post. For me to talk about balance is kooky. I would have to say that I am unbalanced, but in a good way.

I learned to knit as a child. I was maybe 5 or 6 years old. My mother and grandmother both knit though not very often. They taught me so I would stop pestering them when they were knitting. I used to like to take their metal needles and klink them together and make what I thought of as a knitting sound. In 4th grade the teachers decided that on Fridays after lunch we would spend the rest of the school day working on a hobby. One of the teachers offered to teach anyone who wanted to learn how to crochet. I jumped at the chance to add another fiber craft to my hobby list. I learned to chain and double crochet. Many years later after the husband I were married and we moved 3000 miles away from home a new friend taught me to do counted cross stitch. These are the extent of my crafty talents.

My first piece.

My favorite piece.

Normally I go on a jag when I work on a craft. For example my house is full of counted cross stitch pictures because I spent a decade stitching every day. I stitched gifts, pictures and on clothing. Above are two examples. While I was still stitching regularly a friend asked me to teach her how to knit. She had bought Christmas stocking kits for her children and wanted to knit them. I spent many hours over a few days helping her learn. I doubt she ever finished those stockings. She never did quite “get” it. Not that Christmas Stockings are the best first project.  I, on the other hand, had been severely bitten by the knitting bug. I haven’t done another stitch of cross stitch since.

So I do one craft at a time. I can’t imagine a time when I won’t be knitting but had I been asked about the cross stitch I would have said the same thing back then. It’s the other parts of my life that I have problems balancing with the crafting. My house is often neglected with dishes piled in the sink and dust bunnies (or maybe they’re dust elephants) under the beds. If I’ve started a new exciting pattern I will neglect to get to bed at a reasonable time. Sometimes even the blog gets neglected. I do try very hard to put the people in my life before the knitting though. They are pretty good about me saying “Wait” while I count a bit or finish a row.

I can’t believe this is the final day of Knit and Crochet Blog Week. I have enjoyed meeting new to me blogs and reading what everyone has to say. There are many new blogs added to my Google Reader. Thank you Mimi! I can’t wait until next year.

If you’d like to read more Crafting Balance posts search the tag in the title of this post. Enjoy!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 3KCBWDAY7. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crafting Balance: 3KCBWDAY7

  1. Christelle says:

    I tend to do the same as you! I knitted (very very basic) in my teen days, thend rediscovered cross-stitching and only did that for a couple of years, and now am totally absorbbed in hhoking. Sometimes I stitch, but only a straight seam 🙂
    Need to get out my post for today quickly.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Love the cross stitch. It’s been years for me too since I’ve done any embroidery. The thread is just waiting for me to come back to it! But I’ve got so much knitting to do first. ;D

    Like

  3. Pumpkin says:

    Wow, you cross-stitch too? I’m really impressed! Your work is so beautiful.

    Like

  4. agothtale says:

    Your cross-stitch is brilliant !
    I can relate to that “one craft at a time”, sometimes you just don’t feel like doing everything at the same time.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    Great post! I get in those grooves too, it’s really hard not to actually.

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I can totally relate! I love that you still have your very first cross stitch piece (or at least a photo of it available!), and the sampler is just gorgeous and I can see why it’s your favorite! I nearly took the same crafting path as you did, but I did cross stitch first, then knitting – wish I had learned knitting when I was little! Knitting is now the main thing (with a little bead crochet and painting thrown in on the side). Housework, what housework??????

    Like

  7. sandy says:

    LOL, had to smile. I learned to knit and crochet as a child…did nothing with either. Re-learned to crochetd after getting married, then learned to cross stitch and did loads of cross stitch. Then…and I don’t know why, started crocheting again with a vengence. Then knitting and now do both. Have tons of floss and patterns, but I doubt I’ll do the cross stitch again. Funny how we go through stages in our lives.

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    That second cross stitch is so impressive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

