Colour Lovers: 3KCBWDAY1

Colour Lovers
Colour is one of our greatest expressions of ourselves when we choose to knit or crochet, so how do you choose what colours you buy and crochet or knit with. Have a look through your stash and see if there is a predominance of one colour. Do the same with your finished projects – do they match? Do you love a rainbow of bright hues, or more subdued tones. How much attention do you pay to the original colour that a garment is knit in when you see a pattern? Tell readers about your love or confusion over colour.

I know almost nothing about technical aspects of color. For me, color is such a personal thing. We all have our favorite color and then there are the colors that look good on us which may or may not be the colors we love. Don’t forget the colors that we don’t like at all or the ones that we have been taught not to wear.

So how do I decide what color I want to knit something in? For me, it’s always the same. Color is a detail I’ll decide on later. See the above photo stolen from The Fibre Company web site. That is the sweater that is currently on the top of my most wanted list. I saw it in an ad in the newest issue of Knitscene magazine. The pattern isn’t even available yet. It’s not on Ravelry. I love the casual look, the deep henley neck, the raglan shoulders, the garter stitch at the cuffs and bottom and the contrast of the buttons. Notice I didn’t say anything about the color. I do like gray very much and I love those green buttons but for me the color is not what catches my attention.

In my minds eye the photo of the sweater looks more this. Well, maybe it still has those great green buttons. The pattern is designed for their Savannah yarn. The colors on the web site are lovely but they don’t get me excited to knit this sweater, yet. I must stand in the yarn shop in front of the wall of yarn and decide on my color only then. I must feel the way the yarn feels in my hand, smell the way it smells and look at all the colors in person before the sweater will take on a color in my minds eye. At that point I will buy the yarn and know what color my sweater will be.

This week I will be participating in the 3rd annual Knit and Crochet Blog Week so all posts will follow a prescribed topic. If you are interested in reading other participating blogs please search the tag in the title of this post. Enjoy.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 3KCBWDAY1. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Colour Lovers: 3KCBWDAY1

  1. pinkundine says:

    Oooh, that really is a gorgeous pattern! I was immediately drawn to it because it’s grey I have a huge weakness for grey!

    Like

  2. Vivianne says:

    That’s such an interesting way of doing things 🙂

    Like

  3. Suzanne says:

    I agree on your way of picking patterns. I hardly use the same colours as the pattern uses. Often I pick a pattern and start looking for yarn that is suitable for it (criteria are material and thickness), when I find a suitable yarn I pick a colour. But, I do find a pattern much more appealing if it is in colours I like.

    Like

  4. elpalchica says:

    Oooh that is an amazing sweater. Funny though, I looked at the picture and thought it was a sand colour…

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    I feel the same. I usually pick out a pattern first then go to the shop and see what my options are for color and go from there.

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    I pick a pattern and then go looking for the color that speaks to that pattern and probably time of year…I find I tend to knit apple/mint green in the spring and I’m not even particularily fond of green….go figure!

    Like

  7. I find your take on things so interesting! I tend to buy yarn and then look for a pattern to go with it! It’s really cool to see/read how other people find what to knit!

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    I’m a bit that way as well when choosing a color for my project. I have finger yarn and imagine it in so and so color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

