What A Week

I feel like I’ve been on a treadmill, always moving but never getting anywhere. I’m sure you’ve had weeks like that. So what have I been doing?

  • It’s school vacation week. There has been lots of keeping N busy and toting him here and there. There has been lots of lacrosse both organized and solo. 4 1/2 hours of scheduled practice plus a game, which they won! That’s a lot of knitting time though I used most of it reading but not at the game.
  • I’ve been doing a bit more than my usual “good daughter” stuff. A trip to the bank with my father and uncle that was for not but will be repeated next week. An unexpected trip to my father’s doctor for something that was nearly an emergency but not serious. A trip to the hospital for my mother involving tests. Mostly routine.
  • I did some cooking and killed my oven. I’ll see about having it fixed next week when I have a bit more time. We’ve been living on top of the stove cooking or sandwiches.
  • More cleaning with the cousins. This has been fruitful as I (or my father) seems to want the stuff they don’t. My father was thrilled to get this father’s wallet with all the contents. It hasn’t seen the light of day since the late 1950’s.
  • Evidence of another ancestor has been discovered. This is my father’s grandmother on his father’s side, my paternal great grandmother, Annie. She passed away in the 1920’s well before my father was born.
  • The biggest thing I’ve learned this week is to tell your children about family. Talk about the people you knew who have passed. They may not want to know the information now but later when they are faced with an bunch of unmarked photos they will at least have an idea of who they are looking at. Also, label the photos if you know who is who. I’m looking into the faces of people who look like people I know. I have a list of names and birth dates. Putting these two things together is extremely difficult if not impossible.
About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What A Week

  1. Renee Anne says:

    I wish I had been able to get information out of my grandparents and mom before they all passed. I have photo albums full of people that I know are family or close family friends…and no indication of who is in the picture. Occasionally I’ll see a notation of “Aunt Kate” or “Waiting to go” but that’s about it.

    Like

  2. Cookie says:

    I hope everything works out with the parents and the bank and everything. I hear you on the photos! I have no idea who most of the people are and only a vague idea about the rest. Not good at all.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    That does sound like quite a week! I hope everything gets resolved in a good way…
    We were lucky enough that a cousin from DH’s mom’s side of the family took a lot of her pictures and wrote who was who so we know who some of the distant relatives are…

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    That sounds like a great idea (labeling photos). I have so many relatives who have passed recently that I may have to go through photos and start doing that. Your week sounds a lot like mine, I didn’t do the same things, but I’ve been feeling the same way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

