A Half-Assed Post

Or a group of them actually. I’ve had a few different things I’ve wanted to talk about but none of them will make a complete post in and of themselves so I’m slapping them all together and calling them a post. They do explain why I seem to be losing my mind though.

This is the second time I’ve cooked this meal with the intention of sharing the “recipe” with you. Unfortunately I can’t seem to remember to take a photo of the completed dish. One day I will. If you are bothered by the look of raw pork, I’m sorry to inflict this on you. My mother made this all the time when I was a kid. I suspect she got the recipe from my grandmother. There really isn’t a recipe though. The dish is pork chops and stuffing. The recipe, such that it is, is lightly toasted bread, chopped onion, salt, pepper, an egg and Bell’s seasoning mixed together. The amounts are by eye based on what you want. I layer a couple of pork chops on the bottom of the dish, place all the stuffing in the middle and put the remaining chops on the top. The whole thing cooks at 350 for about 1 1/2 hours, until all chance of food poisoning has passed. I normally serve this with a salad (did you see that Dole salad mix was recalled? Yeah, we didn’t have salad.), vegetable (last night we had peas) and apple sauce. There are never any leftovers.

See this car. It is trying to gaslight me. First we had the irregular fan operation. Now it has started turning on the dome light by itself. A couple of months ago I went into the kitchen at night for a drink or something and noticed that the light was on in the car. I called the Husband to come quick and capture the intruder but there was no one there. Odd. This morning I was up again before morning light (for Advil) and noticed that the light was on. The Husband had recently left for work so I hit the lock on the key remote and watched to see if the light went out and it did. A couple of hours later I called the Husband to ask if he noticed if the light was on and he said it wasn’t but that yesterday morning when he went out it was on so he went back into the house to get the keys and when he got outside it was off. He thought he’s seen a reflection or something. The car is trying to drive him crazy too.

We seem to have hit fast forward on the weather again. It was 88 degrees yesterday and is going to be in the high 70s today. I have a smashing headache and itchy watery eyes. I suspect it is due to this. Not only are the spring flowers opening, the leaves and tree flowers are opening all at once. Even Mother Nature is trying to get me.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Half-Assed Post

  1. Marilyn says:

    The recipe sounds good!
    Umm, there was a movie once called Christine…something about a car with a mind of it’s own…maybe yours is Christine reincarnated! 😉
    Sorry about the allergies…maybe benadryl or claritin d?

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    The pork sounds yummy, it took me a few seconds to figure out what the photo was of though :/ Sorry about your car, and the weather, my allergies hate weather changes too.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Rain is on the way this weekend – maybe some relief for your allergies. The recipe sounds good, thanks for sharing it. There must be a short in your car somewhere – reminds me of the time we were out of state and got a very late night call from our neighbors telling us that our car horn was blaring (it was parked in our driveway for the whole neighborhood to hear!). It wasn’t the car alarm either, since there was no car alarm on that car!

    Like

Leave a Reply

