Totally Delicious

Let’s be honest right off the bat. I am a lazy cook but I like to eat. I have a good size collection of recipes but tend to make the same things over and over. They are usually the things I can throw into one pot in 5 minutes and then serve when cooked. One other thing if I’m baring it all, I tend to do the vast majority of my blog reading in the morning, before I eat breakfast. This leaves me vulnerable to any tasty looking food I see. Usually I’ll comment that it looks yummy and move on quickly forgetting what I saw. The other day Susan posted a photo and recipe that really made my mouth water when I saw it even though it was 6:30AM. I scribbled the ingredients on my grocery list with the intention of picking them up that day and making it the next day. Well I found it a bit of a challenge to find all the ingredients. After three stores I had everything I could find and what I hoped would be a reasonable substitute for the chile guajillo, ancho chile.

The recipe seems simple and it is easy as can be but it is tool intensive. I used 4 pots, 2 lids, the blender, a couple of knives, a few spoons, the ladle and the cutting board. All before serving. Not having a dishwasher really crimps my interest in cooking. When I had everything in that final pot and the rice cooking I tackled the mountain of dishes.

When everyone was home I served dinner. I really expected one person to complain but N announced that this was the best thing he’d ever eaten and he wanted to know if we could have it every day. At that point I breathed a sigh of relief and enjoyed my meal. I served mine with garlic bread since I had more than a half of loaf of slightly stale french bread leftover.

Thanks so much for sharing the recipe Susan!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Totally Delicious

  1. Marilyn says:

    It looks yummy but with all those pots etc used I doubt I’ll make it. If you want to share I’ll take the leftovers though! šŸ˜€

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    Oh, I’m so glad you made it! And I think ancho is a good substitute for guajillo. Now I want more hilachas, lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

