WIP Wednesday: Stupid, Stupid, Stupid!

Sheldon is so disappointed. I made a rookie mistake. A really dumb rookie mistake. I took something more complicated than a simple stockinette sock to knit night and Sheldon is paying the price. I completed the top of the shell while I was at knit night. It seems fine. But then I cast on for the bottom portion of the shell and knit wildly while I was there and again at home in an effort to have the shell bottom done Monday night so that Tuesday, my morning at home when I planned to do whatever I wanted, I could finish up the body bottom that attaches the shell to the body and start the sewing up. Tuesday morning I sat comfortably in from of the TV with a movie (J. Edgar, don’t bother unless you’re a big Hoover fan) and set out to read the next lines of the directions. That was when I discovered that I am either too stupid to live or I can’t read. Instead of doing as it said: cast on with cc, I cast on with mc. Yes, I know the difference between a c and a m. So I spent Tuesday morning shaking my head and apologizing to Sheldon. He said he knows the different between a c and a m. I did manage to cast on and start the shell bottom in the correct color, proof that I am not a complete loser. So I have less than 2 pieces to go and then some sewing up. Dear God let me have this done by Friday. I can’t take much more of Sheldon staring at me with those disappointed eyes.

Project details are here. I was more optimistic then.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Stupid, Stupid, Stupid!

  1. Marilyn says:

    Umm, you could tell Sheldon you were being creative and just go with the CC instead of the MC? It could work…

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that! I know how it goes to get distracted and make mistakes, it’s so hard when it’s such an intricate project. But life goes on and we live and learn. I bet he will look amazing when he’s done!

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    I’m sure Sheldon will completely forgive you once he has his gorgeous new shell. The reproachful eyes are just because he’s naked 😉

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Awww….don’t be so hard on yourself – Sheldon will understand!

    Like

  5. Kathleen says:

    I make mistakes like this all the time, I’m such a terrible pattern-reader. Ugh. Sorry that you and Sheldon (who looks adorable, oh my gosh) have hit a misread-related-roadbump—but hey, maybe it’s a sign that you’re supposed to make two Sheldons in inverse colours?

    (Also, thank you for the anti-rec of J. Edgar, which I was thinking about
    getting from the library but now won’t bother with.)

    Like

  6. Vanessa says:

    Tell Sheldon it’s a design element!

    Like

  7. elpalchica says:

    Oh no! And I actually thought at knit night that it was interesting that he had a light green tummy, but I didn’t say anything! I should have!

    Like

  8. Vivianne says:

    LOL you should have left his eyes til last, then he couldn’t reproach you; and Hoover has fans ??

    Like

  9. Underground Crafter says:

    Wow, he really is staring at you with disappointed eyes. Or, is he staring at me…?

    Like

  10. Hannah says:

    I am sorry.. despite your sad moments, you made me smile.. and that Sheldon.. already quite the character. You must have something right if he knows his alphabet LOL

    I found you through WIP Wednesdays. Here is my project of the week: http://likemamalikedaughter.blogspot.com/2012/04/how-to-tuesday-bunnys-birthday-dress.html

    Like

  11. Poor Sheldon, I imagine he a unhappy being naked… I think he may be a liitle unhappy he can’t run around looking for a sweater or something to being leggless! You still have some surgery to do, look forward to seeing the smiling sheldon :0)
    willow4

    Like

  12. Susan says:

    I’ve done that before, too. Even with all the issues, Sheldon is quite a cutie!

    Like

  13. This is exactly the sort of thing I would have done. In fact, I think henceforth I shall leave all eyes until the very end, so that they CANNOT stare at me reproachfully. Lesson learned. LOL!

    Like

  14. Shannon says:

    I have made worse mistakes than that so don’t beat yourself up too much 🙂 Sheldon is looking great so far!

    Like

  15. The Rock Chic says:

    Oh how annoying – but I am sure Sheldon will forgive you in the end 🙂

    Like

  16. Kepanie says:

    Dare to be different! It’s okay; don’t beat yourself up so much as I’m sure each of us has done something like that for sure. I know I probably have.
    Sheldon will just have to be patient. I’m sure he appreciates your concern for the matter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

