Knitting Entertainment part 2

I’ve done it before and I’ll probably do it again. Here are a few movies that have kept my mind busy while I’ve been knitting.

Just last night we watched the movie The Descendants. When I pulled it out the husband asked what it was and who was in it. I told him the name of the movie and he said he’d never heard of it. When I told him it starred George Clooney he rolled his eyes and was unimpressed. I could see him mentally moving into the other room to watch anything else but in the end he did stick it out and I think he was surprised. I really expected this movie to be overly dramatic and hard to sit through but it wasn’t. There was a real life type balance of humor and sadness. While there seemed to be a lot going on with this family I think we got a realistic view into the life of any family. No one puts it all out there and when you are a fly on the wall as you are when watching a movie you see all parts of the story, not just what the people want you to see. The story was told in an easy to follow and relatable way. The family in the story seems like an any family with real problems that aren’t entirely resolved in 115 minutes. The acting was good. George Clooney was good in this role. He was better than I have seen him in other movies. There was a vulnerability that was palpable. The actresses who played his daughters were excellent. The movie takes place in Hawaii and many of the views were stunning. I found it easy to knit cables while watching this movie. I didn’t lose my place or miss anything when I wasn’t watching. Overall it’s a good movie but it is quite sad.

A while back I remember seeing ads for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy when it was in the theater and thinking Gary Oldman and Colin Firth, yes please. We don’t really go to the theater to see movies unless it’s something special and family friendly so I had to wait for this to come out on DVD. It was well worth the wait. As a knitter my view of what makes good viewing is a bit different than your average movie watcher. I want something I can knit to. This movie wasn’t great for that. There are parts that have subtitles and parts with lots of action that you really have to keep your eyes on the screen to know who did what. This movie is not cable friendly. I had to pull out the socks and work on those when I realized I had missed a bit of plot due to a cable crossing row. The movie was good, the acting excellent and the resolution a surprise until almost the end. The husband enjoyed this one even more than I did. Though I did have to read him a few subtitles when he was distracted by his raid on WOW towards the end of the movie.

Columbus Circle is one of those movies that got placed in our queue and we totally forgot about it. I think I was the one who put it there thinking the husband would enjoy it. When it came in the mail we were both surprised to see it. I am not a big fan of thrillers if they involve a lot of blood and gore but if it’a a psychological thrilled I’m all in. This is totally one of those with just a small side of blood. I don’t want to give anything away but I will say it’s OK to knit by though you do have to keep your eyes on the screen much of the time. It’s a good movie with an OK plot. We did figure out what was going on before the plot had unfolded entirely but it was still enjoyable. Beth, stay away from this one! You have too big a turnover in neighbors for you to make it through this comfortably.

One Day is a good movie with a disappointing end. I suppose it has a lesson but I don’t want to learn that type of lesson from a movie. The way the story is told is very interesting though. The scenes take place on the same date over a number of years. We watch these characters as they move through their life with all the ups and downs that life brings. This is a movie where the journey is what is important, not the destination. The husband and I totally pegged the spot in the movie where it lost us. Up until then it was really good. I would have liked a different ending. It is a great movie for knitters though. I was able to knit cables and count rows without losing my place in either.

Knitters can’t knit by movies alone. I have been watching some TV too. A few of my can’t miss shows are Castle, Shameless and The Good Wife. The husband is looking forward to the return of  Game of Thrones and I am looking forward to True Blood. What are you watching?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, movies. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Knitting Entertainment part 2

  1. Marilyn says:

    I’ve bought the movie The Descendants but we haven’t watched it yet. DH doesn’t seem all that interested…
    As for TV, Harry’s Law, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, The Good Wife, Storage Wars and Pawn Stars.

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    I’m more of a tv show knitter than a movie/film knitter: mine are Castle, Grey’s Anatomy, Supernatural, Unforgettable, Body of Proof… And lots more!

    Like

  3. Woah, I haven’t seen any of those movies yet, I’m very behind the times! Thanks for the reviews.

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    Woah, I haven’t seen any of those movies yet, I’m very behind the times! Thanks for the reviews.

    Like

  5. Lisa Urban says:

    I watch a lot of Disney movies, they are great to knit to. And Harry Potter. I love your opinion of a good movie being one you can knit to. MY dad doesn’t quite understand that concept yet. It’s really hard for me to knit to any movie I haven’t seen, which is why I guess I watch movies I’ve already seen a lot.

    Like

  6. Beth says:

    Well, the Decendents is on my absolutely-positively-must-watch list. Too bad about Columbus Circle – I had thought the blurb on the back of the case (when I cataloged it at work) looked interesting.

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    Oh, man, I honestly thought that some of those movies were still in the theaters, not on DVD yet. Yikes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

