My Grandmother

Today would be my paternal grandmother’s 116th birthday. Above is her wedding photo. When I was growing up she was the grandmother I saw mainly on holidays. There were things about her I will never forget though. She made the best apple pie I have ever eaten, she always had glass jars of ice water in her refrigerator and Hershey candy bars on the dining room table, her living room had doilies on the tables and the back of the chairs and couch, she always wore dresses, and she taught my aunt’s dogs to pray. She was very religious attending mass every week no matter what and expecting her children and their families to do the same.

When I think about her she looks more like this though. This photo is from the mid 1940’s I guess based on the age my father (the son on the left) looks. My grandmother is about my age here. I think you can see where I get the gray hair.

Just this week for the first time I was able to see a photo of my grandmother’s mother. There was no date on the photo but it did have her married name so I guess it was taken after she married.

About ten years ago I was contacted by a very distant relative on a genealogy forum who shared a photo with me of our mutual relative. She is my grandmother’s mother’s grandmother. (Check out the crocheted shawl! I wonder if she made it.) Sadly there is no photo of her daughter (my grandmother’s grandmother) that I have been able to find.

As I get older I find myself wondering about these women, their lives and how I am connected to them.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Grandmother

  1. Teresa says:

    Love the old photos and stories!

    Like

  2. Renee Anne says:

    I love old family photos, even if they’re not my family. I find them fascinating.

    I have a ton of photos from my grandparents when they were younger (after they were married – so in the 1950s/60s)…which also include photos of my mother. Not long before we moved into my grandparents’ house, I found a box in the basement that had a ton of photos from my maternal grandfather’s family. Unfortunately, I have no real way to date them but I would hazard a guess that they’re from the early 20th century…and I’m going to have some difficulty figuring out who is who. I can recognize my grandpa and his brother and my great-grandparents…but some of my great-grandparents’ siblings and their parents are going to be a bit more difficult for me to recognize. We’ll see.

    Someday, I’ll go through all those photos…hopefully sooner than later (so I can get digital copies of them uploaded to “The Cloud”).

    Like

  3. Pumpkin says:

    Wow, this is really interesting! I would hope that you save and maintain those photos, they are really great. I don’t think my family has any that old.

    Like

  4. Cyprienne says:

    These are all so wonderful — thank you for sharing them!!

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    What fun facts to learn about your ohana! Such beautiful, classic photos.

    Like

  6. I, too, love to see pictures of family who’s gone before me. I like to imagine them laughing, loving, crying, being ordinary like me. Doing ordinary things and wearing these wonderful clothes. But, I’m glad I don’t have to wear them.

    Like

  7. Marilyn says:

    What wonderful memories! I didn’t know one gramma at all and the other I have just a couple memories from when I was very very young. But they mean the world to me.

    Like

  8. Susan says:

    I love the photos, too. I’m a sucker for that kind of thing. Do you know whether any of these women knitted or crocheted? It’s those little details that get lost to history so that you end up wondering who crocheted that shawl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

