Complete Accountability

As I said the other day, I have been working on Cassidy. I haven’t worked on it a whole lot because I hate to pick up something that requires focus and then have to keep putting it down because of interruptions. I have a bit less than an inch of the hood done. I am not 100% thrilled with the picked up row and I think I am off by one row crossing the cables. I can live with those things. I have long hair which will drape over the hood and to be honest I doubt I will ever put the hood on. Maybe one for photos but that is likely it. I plan to work on this tonight since the menfolk have a cub scout meeting but who knows what my mental state will be by tonight. I make no promises.

Last night I spent my knitting time working on the sock. I know I said it was going to be my out of the house knitting and it mostly has been. In the afternoon yesterday N had Kumon and that is a good hour of uninterrupted knitting time so I worked on the sock. I was nearly done with the gusset decreases when it was time to leave. After the conference with the teacher, which was very good, and dinner, which I’ll talk about in a moment, I didn’t have much left is the line of brain power so I picked up the sock and completed the gusset decreases.

Yesterday Beth and I had a short discussion on corned beef and cabbage leftovers. I told her what we have always done with the leftovers: bubble and squeak. I quickly looked up the wiki on it because I knew they could explain it better than I could. Mine is a bit different than what is described in the article. Into the frying pan I place some butter and a 1/4 cup or so of finely chopped onion. I cook the onion until it is translucent and then I add all the leftover vegetables which I chop up into small pieces. I let it heat through stirring quite often so it doesn’t stick in the pan. I don’t let it brown, I just want it hot all the way through. Once it is quite hot I put the sliced corned beef leftovers on top and cover the pan with a lid until the corned beef is heated through. I serve the bubble and squeak with additional butter. It’s quite delicious and different every time I make it because the combination of leftovers is always different.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures, knits, this place, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Complete Accountability

  1. Lisa Urban says:

    Loving those socks! And I bet that you’ll figure out and get the momentum for that sweater/hoodie and when you do it will be so pretty!

    Like

  2. Cheryl says:

    Yum, bubble and squeak! That’s always our Boxing Day tradition for Christmas leftovers, although it is fab all year round.

    I love your socks! The colours are pooling so perfectly. Vanilla socks are always perfect for a bit of brain light knitting 🙂

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    It all looks good!

    Like

  4. Pumpkin says:

    I agree with Lisa, you will get the sweater done when you get it done. Just enjoy the process. The sock is looking wonderful as well, are they for you?

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    They’re both lookin’ good, Karen!

    Like

  6. I have to put my socks on a written To-Do List rather than one in my head! And the food looks yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

