Tradition

Being a good Irish (more or less) girl from the Boston area I know that March means corned beef and cabbage. We ate it every year when I was growing up and for a lot of years I’ve been preparing it for my family. In my family when you say corned beef you mean the grey one, not the red one and it must be served with cabbage, carrots. potatoes and turnip. It is the easiest meal to cook, throw everything in a pot of water one thing (in this order corned beef, turnip, carrots, cabbage and finally potatoes) at a time so that it all ends up done at the same time, but not necessarily the easiest to buy. I was disappointed with the corned beef this year. It was salty. I tasted the water as I had been taught to do since I was tall enough to reach the stove. It didn’t taste salty until it hit the table. Next year I’ll change the water whether it needs it or not. My little family is not hugely thrilled with the first night of this meal. What they want is the leftovers. For that I chop up all the vegetables together and place them in a large frying pan with some butter and sauteed onions. Heat until hot and serve beside the leftover corned beef. Yum!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tradition

  1. Pumpkin says:

    I know that you weren’t satisfied with the beef, but that dish looks amazing! I’m convenced that the combination of all those veggies together is the best meal ever. What a wonderful family tradition!

    Like

  2. Yea, the leftovers sound better than the first time around! Sorta like potato pancakes?

    Like

  3. A Life Flexible says:

    Ooohh, those leftovers sounds yummy. I may have to try it the next time I make corned beef and cabbage 🙂

    Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    I’ve never eaten corned beef…yours definitely looks and sounds good!

    Like

  5. Renee Anne says:

    I do have a love of Corned Beef. However, it’s about as Irish as fortune cookies are Chinese (short version: not Irish).

    Husband went to Ireland a few years ago and he discussed corned beef & cabbage with them and they basically told him that it was an American thing. Now, whether that means Irish-Americans is another story (and I suspect that it does).

    With all that said, I can’t resist Corned Beef & Cabbage on St. Paddy’s Day………..I think we’re even having it at home this year 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

