Small Steps

It’s been very small steps in one direction or another the last 24 hours. I spent yesterday with a headache. It was the kind that stays around the edge no matter what you take. It left me feeling blah.

I had plans to work on a UFO and even took a few steps in that direction. I put all the parts and pattern for Cassidy on my bed while I rested a bit. I even read the directions thinking they would give me the push I needed to start seaming. “Sew all seams” was the step I was on. That was not the kind of motivation I needed so I visited with Google and Ravelry a bit to see how others handled the situation. Armed with good advice and a complete lack of willpower I decided to tackle something else in the UFO pile.

I filled the white bathroom sink with warmish water and a bit of Eucalan and dropped in the red Malabrigo socks. I soaked them for a good 15 minutes and then gave them a bit of a rinse and changed the water. After soaking a bit longer the water was still turning red so I added a glug (maybe 1/4 to 1/2 cup) of white vinegar in the hope of setting the dye. I left it to sit another hour or so. It appeared that all the dye was gone so I gave them another rinse and hung them to dry. I don’t guarantee that the socks have finished releasing dye so I won’t be washing these with the other socks until I’m sure everything won’t get a pink bath.

My final step in the wrong direction happened this morning. I turned on the computer to upload these photos and the monitor kept turning off. 30 seconds of picture and then off it would go. Since my patience tend to be short in the morning, I disconnected the whole thing and hooked up a monitor H had left in her room. It’s smaller and shaped completely different than the ancient Sony one so things are a bit distorted. I played around with the settings a bit but since this is a borrowed (I’ll buy a new one this week H and you can have this one back, I promise-like she’s even reading her mother’s blog…) monitor I’m not being overly fussy. I hope your day is going better.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Small Steps

  1. Pumpkin says:

    So sorry to hear that you had a bad day, tomorrow will be much better I’m sure! I’ve been attempting to work up the strength needed to seam up a project as well, I always like to think about how I will have a pretty sweater as a present when I’m done : )

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    I hope the headache is completely gone now.
    Red yarn just loves to bleed…hope that works out.
    We’ve had a computer monitor do that too. Frustrating.
    No exclamation points today…I don’t want to yell and make your headache come back. 😀

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    Ugh, I hate days like that, where nothing seems to go right. Mine are often accompanied by that lingering headache too. Fingers crossed tomorrow is better!

    Like

  4. Renee Anne says:

    If you’re one that throws handknit socks in the washer and dryer, may I recommend Shout Color Catchers? They collect all the dyes that run from clothing and collect it onto a cloth that resembles a dryer sheet (but it isn’t a dryer sheet – if they could make a combination of color catcher and dryer sheet, I’d be so happy).

    I don’t know if they’d work in the sink with hand washing everything but you could try it…..

    Like

  5. Teresa says:

    It must be the solar flare that’s happening today – even Ravelry is having problems….A day without Ravelry???? I think I’ll just forget about today altogether and go back to bed – try again tomorrow!

    Like

  6. Shannon says:

    Some days small steps are the best thing for us. I hope your headache went away!

    Like

  7. Yes, there are days where I should have stayed in bed. Sorry you’re not feeling well. Hope the headache clears up soon. Is the barometer changing where you live? Sometimes when it’s getting cloudy, I get what I call “fuzz brain.”

    Like

  8. Faith says:

    Sorry to hear you were not feeling well. I hope the rest of the week treats you better. Seeming is never fun and I usually end up having to sit at the kitchen table in order to convince myself of what should be done.

    Like

  9. Kepanie says:

    Hope you’re feeling better!
    I need to remember that about Malabrigo sock yarn that it bleeds yeah? I think I have a skein.

    Like

  10. chrisknits says:

    Not much. Headache too, although I rarely take anything for it, just muddle through. And my computer has now lost my Excel and Word programs, AGAIN! Off to load them back on and hope my files are retrievable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

