WIP Wednesday: Evolution

I love the way my knitting life has evolved. I used to have pretend friends inside the computer who knit and live 3-d friends outside the computer who knew nothing about my knitting life. In the past handful of years that has changed. Not only have I met real live knitters in person-they do exist!- and count them among my friends, I have discussed my knitting obsession with non-knitting friends. FYI they don’t get it. The only drawback so far is when knitting for these people who stand in both worlds, I have to keep things a secret. That is not so great for feeding the blog. So because of that I have three projects to mention but only one I can talk about.

I’ve got a couple of super secret projects going. One 99% complete and the other maybe 90% complete. Both have been a pleasure to knit. Details to follow eventually.

So that leaves the one project I am free to talk about at length. This is a plain stockinette sock being knit on size 1 1/2 needles in Opal Circus yarnย that was gifted to me by my knitting neighbor and friend Liz. Opal is one of those yarns that I always love when I see the socks but is a complete mystery to me when it’s in the skein. It looks nothing like what it will knit up to be. That is easily half the fun. The other half has to be watching the colors and patterns go by while knitting. I love that too.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Evolution

  1. Marilyn says:

    Self designing yarn. How very cool! And so much fun. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  2. susan says:

    cool! I so enjoy yarn like that!

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    Those types of yarn are always a mystery, aren’t they?! The sock looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. chrisknits says:

    I always enjoy seeing what’s coming from Opal. Hope your secret knitting is a success!

    Like

  5. elpalchica says:

    Oh wow! That looks awesome! I can’t wait to see it in person!
    Oh and I saw the hawk flying over your house yesterday. Wonderful bird. I was sad I had missed it in the tree, but our windows don’t look out there.

    Like

  6. cleancup says:

    Looks like great fun!

    Like

  7. Erin-Kate says:

    It looks wonderful!

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    I love it when a friend or ohana gifts yarn to a knitter.
    Can’t wait to read the deets on your super secret projects!

    Like

  9. Self-patterning yarn that knits up as bands of chevrons? That’s awesome!

    Like

  10. Andria says:

    Oh that yarn is so cool! I think I need some of that, your sock is awesome!

    Like

  11. autumngeisha says:

    That looks like such a fun yarn to knit with. Love the colors and patterns. I cherish the friends that I have made through my knitting group. They don’t think I have lost my mind when I tell them that my dream is to open up my own yarn shop one day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. Oh, the pattern is coming out so cool.
    I need more 3-d knitting friends. I’m working on converting some folks at work right now.

    Like

  13. Looks great! I love self patterning yarn – so pretty!

    Like

  14. Ohhh, that is SO pretty. I’ll have to find an online shop that carries it.

    Like

  15. P.S. Oh, no. I looked and it’s not being made anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

