Stuff I’ve Learned This Week

What a week. I disappeared on you. Sorry about that. I have been sick, icky sick. I had a nasty stomach bug. I still don’t feel right. I have no interest in doing anything and the stuff I have to do is a struggle. There have been lessons as there are in just about everything.

  • It is nearly impossible to calm a worried child when you are on opposite sides of the bathroom door. The only solution was to say “I’m fine. Go watch TV.” I am not proud of that solution but at the time it worked.
  • It is possible to hate food. I couldn’t even watch TV for a few days for fear of seeing a commercial. Food Network and Cooking Channel were off limits until yesterday. To be honest, I still don’t feel much like eating. I’m not looking forward to grocery shopping.
  • It is possible to not want to knit and not mind. Normally I am at a loss when I have no will to knit. This week I didn’t care and again, to be honest, still don’t.
  • Gingerale is magic. I would have gone without any calories for days had it not been for the golden nectar of Canada Dry. It will always be in my kitchen.
  • Two males left on their own can destroy a house in no time. At the time I really didn’t care but now that I see what has been left in their wake I wish I had left a list of stuff for them to keep on top of. One step at a time is all I can do.
  • Losing 5-10lbs over the course of a week has been a surprise. My pants feel comfortable, even loose. I am visibly thinner according to the mother of N’s friend. But stomach flu as diet is not the way to go, ever.
  • Napping is always good.
  • Laundry never ends.

I hope you are all well.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stuff I’ve Learned This Week

  1. Natalie says:

    Oh 😦 So sorry you’ve been really sick. Really hope you feel lots better soon

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Sorry to hear that you were sick…glad to hear you are better. I was starting to worry since you hadn’t posted. I was hoping you were on a vacation.
    Don’t do too much…take lots of naps. And the males in the house can help clean up their messes!

    Like

  3. Vanessa says:

    Oh no! Get well soon.

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    Glad you’re back. Hope you continue to feel better.

    Like

  5. susan says:

    Oh you poor thing! What a week you’ve had! Glad you are on the mend.

    Like

  6. Beth says:

    I’m so glad you’re better. The urge to knit will return soon enough.

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    Horrendous!!! Sorry you got hit w/that! Yes, the upside is losing weight even though it’s through a yucky way.
    We got hit w/that around Thanksgiving. So I hear and feel ya. A high school here in the city had to shut down for three days b/c of that bug. No fun; take it easy.

    Like

  8. We’re really sick when we don’t want to knit. Sorry you have felt so bad. Maybe this will keep you from getting this sick again for a couple of years?
    take care,

    Like

  9. chrisknits says:

    Oh no. I should have worried when you didn’t post Wednesday. Hope you feel 100% soon. No knitting will is no good!!!

    Like

  10. Shannon says:

    Ugh, being sick sucks – I’m sorry you had to go through that 😦 No will to knit?? *shudder* That must be one bad illness!

    Like

  11. Contessa says:

    So sorry to hear you’re sick!!! 😦 My experience with illness weight loss is that it always comes back, and usually with a couple friends. UGH!!!

    I hope you feel all better very soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

