FO Friday: Relationships Of The Knit Variety

I completed the TGIS Day socks by Rose Hiver Designs and I couldn’t be happier. They really turned out better than I ever dreamed they would. Jumping into a mystery KAL isn’t always easy. It’s a lot like a blind date. I’ve been burned before. That black blob is still sitting in my UFO pile where it is destined to spend eternity. The Bláthnat socks are likely to join that stole. Mystery knitting takes faith and a willingness to quit at any moment if you aren’t happy. While I have the faith, the quitting is hard for me. I commit to a project the way one commits to a relationship. I know things aren’t going to be perfect. I know there is a lot of work and that until the end the work has to be done. Giving up isn’t easy. But sometimes a relationship comes along that is a challenge at the beginning and has rocky parts that have to be overcome but eventually it falls into a lovely rhythm. A point is reached where you know in your heart that this is forever. My TGIS Day socks will likely be the socks I pull first from the clean sock pile to wear. The Malabrigo yarn is soft. The color, Ravelry Red, is very pleasing when one is showing a bit of sock. I am proud of the work I put into these socks. They are totally worth it.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, knits, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to FO Friday: Relationships Of The Knit Variety

  1. susan says:

    Loving that Ravelry Red! What a sweet pair of socks! I’ve completed one mystery sock pair and only made it through part of another one before frogging. I’m into plain jane sock knitting right now since I’m making a HUGE pair for my dh. Happy Friday to you!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    I’ve learned that KALs are difficult, especially the mystery ones. I love that you stuck with it. And look at the wonderful socks that you got!

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    They look wonderful 🙂

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    I love it when you find a pattern like that – it doesn’t have to be easy, but it does have to *work* somehow, and it sounds like you’ve found your perfect socks! They look lovely 🙂

    Like

  5. Renee Anne says:

    I know what you mean about the Blathnat socks…I want to love them because I do like so many of Carrie’s designs but they just aren’t something “me”…so they were frogged 😦

    Like

  6. affiknitty says:

    Nicely done! I enjoyed your musings about mystery KALs.

    Like

  7. Glad you persevered to the finish. I love the socks!

    Like

  8. christine says:

    beautiful socks! Im always a bit worried by KAL – Id hate to put effort in and then hate the pattern half way through

    Like

  9. chrisknits says:

    Love them. There is a lot of red around the blogs this week, is there something I don’t know? LOL

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    HO’omaka’i! Those are some awesome socks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

