You Learn Something New Everyday

I was watching something on TV the other day and they said that your brain uses a lot of unrelated information to make connections and figure things out. I find brain things really interesting.

For as long as I can remember I have been really good with getting places. I can go some place once and find my way back there forever without directions. This may seem like something simple but the husband and H can’t find there way anywhere. I still give them directions when they are going places we’ve been to hundreds of times. It wasn’t until N was about 3 or 4 and I realized that he had this same ability did I realize that other people could do it too. N used to like to tell the husband that he was going the wrong way when they were out and about. The husband did not appreciate this help from the back seat driving.

Back to the unrelated information brain thing. Sometimes I am thinking of something and a completely unrelated “picture” will pop into my brain. (Not all my thoughts are pictures but these are definitely pictures.) Usually I’ll just take a moment to think of what it is and move on but thinking back I now realize that a lot of these things that pop up are really old information that surprises me. A week or two ago an intersection 3000 miles away that we drove through maybe once every couple of weeks over 25 years ago popped into my head. Another time a view down a hallway when we visited my aunt in the state hospital in the 1960’s. How weird is that? Does this ever happen to you? I hope this isn’t a sign that I’m using up all my storage space.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in this place. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Learn Something New Everyday

  1. michellespengler@gmail.com says:

    I’m the complete opposite of you when it comes to directions. I have absolutely no sense of east, west, north and south. I have been known to get lost in my own town…where I’ve lived for 30 years!

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Can’t say I’ve ever had an old image pop into my head. Maybe it’s kinda like deja vu…I’ve had that happen.
    You must have interesting connections in your brain!

    Like

  3. Kate says:

    I, too, have an uncanny sense of direction. I’ve never been lost… and it helps b/c it gives me a sense of security when i’m out. I always know the way home. And, i remember every place i’ve ever been. i also remember random things about people (like they really like brownies, or that they have the same bday as their dog, or something weird like that)— but i’ve learned to not let that stuff slip out, b/c it often creeps them out!

    When Dan learned to drive, at age 30, we headed off in the car to show his parents his new license. he was driving. We got to the end of the driveway and he asked me “which way.” I realized then that he had never once paid attention to where we were going. he didn’t know which towns were south of boston, north, west… where they were in relation to each other. Whereas, I … well, i could draw you a realistic map. 🙂

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    If there’s a yarn shop involved, I can remember exactly where it is and how to get there…..

    Like

  5. chrisknits says:

    Me too. Hubster can’t find his way out of a paper sack. I can find my way anywhere. I also see patterns in architecture, nature, and other areas that others never notice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

