Weekend Lessons

We had a bit of snow on Saturday. It was light and fluffy and looked so nice falling. Spending my Saturday looking out the window should have been a sign. So should have all the time I spent cruising the internet and snacking. Normally I knit my fingers off when I have a weekend mostly at home. The TGIS Day sock has grown but not by nearly as much as it should have. I think I have to admit that while I can knit anything, or at least I believe that, there are things I just don’t like to knit. Sadly intricate socks are one of those things. Maybe it’s the fact that this is a KAL, which I haven’t officially joined but I am KALing with Beth. This sock has that homework due tomorrow feeling. I know I should be knitting it but anything and everything is distracting me. I cleared the car and leisurely shoveled while N played in the snow. I even washed the dishes a few times this weekend. That never happens.

So I’m hoping that now that I have admitted my feels I will be able to big the bigger knitter and get this pair done. I like the pattern which says a lot considering the fact that this is a mystery KAL. I love the yarn. Malabrigo is heaven. I could knit it day after day and never get bored with the feeling of the yarn. This should be a great pairing but something isn’t doing it for me. How about you? What do you do when you feel this way?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekend Lessons

  1. Marilyn says:

    I totally understand what you are saying. I cleaned the house Sunday instead of knitting on the hat I’m working on…there is no end to the hat…it just goes on and on and on. And I don’t clean if there is knitting to do! 🙂

    Like

  2. Renee Anne says:

    If it makes you feel better, I decided I was going to do the Blathnat sock KAL in the Sock Knitters Anonymous group and I finally started on Saturday…only to frog it last night. I’m either going to have to change yarns, change needle size, or succumb to the fact that although 64 stitches normally works for me for socks, it’s just not going to and I’m going to have to make the largest size. Personally, I think it’s a combination of all those. So, I’m going to be digging through the stash for some lovely solid (or slightly variegated) sock yarn… *sigh*

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    I know just what you mean – it’s always a sign to me that I’m not enjoying a project if I do housework instead! If it helps, the sock looks gorgeous 😉

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    When that happens to me, I usually start a new knitting project – must be why I have a million UFO’s – ha!

    Like

  5. chrisknits says:

    Me? Why I cast on something else and ignore the one I can’t stand. Eventually I rip out what I am not feeling or it just never resurfaces. Life is too short to knit something you aren’t enjoying! Which is also why I don’t do KALs.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    I hear you. I think it’s like this…
    an intricate sock looks so darn good and it’s cool to knit it and all but you have to focus on it b/c you don’t want to screw up since figuring out what went wrong and ripping back is a pain in the arse.
    Compared to knitting a basic, standard sock pattern, it’s easy and whips up fast b/c it’s almost like mindless knitting.
    Knowing me, I would tough it out. I dreaded having to knit a second Monkey sock but I did and I had to tote the beautiful, yet big book around.

    Like

  7. Beth says:

    Have you tried it on yet?

    Like

Leave a Reply

