Knitting Entertainment

As I’ve mentioned in the past, I’m like most other knitters in that I like to watch something on TV while I knit. A few years ago we got a subscription to Blockbuster Total Access and this really has been one of my favorite guilty pleasures. When H and N are on vacation we tend to get more video games coming into the mailbox than movies but still I like to have something to watch. I bet you do too so here are a few of the things I’ve watched lately.

Just last night we watched Source Code with Jake Gyllenhaal.  The husband put it in the queue so I really expected not to like it at all. It was a pleasant surprise when I did find it compelling. It’s considered a sci-fi thriller sort of movie. It did have those elements but it was also action adventure and mystery. There was even a little romance thrown in but only very little. Overall it was pretty good. If you are able to completely suspend reality and just take the movie in for what it is you will enjoy it too.

Continuing the train theme, we watched Unstoppable a week or so ago. Denzel Washington is great in this. I have enjoyed nearly all the movies I’ve watched of his. He’s really a great actor and he is excellent in this movie as well. Unstoppable is an action thriller and it is really thrilling to watch. I kept discovering that I was paying more attention to the movie than I was to my knitting which required some tinking. While this movie isn’t rated as highly as Source Code I think I preferred it .

I am a complete sucker for anything about the Boston area. If a movie is set here I want to see if they used real locations for the filming and did they get the Boston accents right. Most of the time they don’t on both counts but when you have Ben Affleck in the movie you have a better chance of getting something authentic. The Town was set in Charlestown, a part of Boston and they really did film here. It’s a crime drama about bank robbers. Having lived in the Boston area for my entire life (yes, we lived away while the husband was in the air force but we have always been legal residents) so many things about this movie rang true. The accents weren’t too bad either.

My favorite dvd of late is the British version of Shameless. They did it before Showtime and in my opinion they did it better. Shameless is a TV drama about a dysfunctional family and how they function really well. The father is a drunk and the mother abandoned the family so the eldest daughter is holding it all together. The storyline should be depressing but it isn’t. There is plenty of comedy to keep you from crying out of pity. This is an adult drama with sex, nudity and mature story lines so be warned if you are sensitive to that stuff. Unfortunately while they have made 9 seasons, there is only 1 available on Blockbuster. Poo! Also the first few episodes we watched with the captioning on because we had trouble understanding some of the words.

So have you watched anything really good lately? What do you recommend?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, movies, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitting Entertainment

  1. Marilyn says:

    “The Help” is the last movie watched here. I read the book, which I loved, and the movie was good but a bit slow moving. I doubt DH cared for it at all…

    Like

  2. chrisknits says:

    I don’t watch much TV and rarely get out to watch movies, but the last two movies I have seen are Sherlock Holmes 2 and Super 8 (this one on video). I loved them both!

    Like

  3. Teresa says:

    Movies?! I love movies! Here’s a few recent favorites that I liked (that I can remember, anyhow!): “Danny Deckchair” – High in the quirky department, but a fun story, with a little romance. “Made in Dagenham” – About the car factories in England back in the 60’s (?) and how the women workers fought to get equal pay – funny, interesting, even the hubby liked it. “New in Town” – with Renee Zelweger (sp?). She is a corporate, big city type who gets sent to the middle of nowhere Minnnesota to close down one of her coporation’s factories. Of course, things don’t work out as she planned! Funny, with a little romance, and I especially loved how they poked fun at Minnesotans. “Letters to Juliet” – can’t remember the details, I just remember that I liked it! An interesting romance story. Of course there’s been a lot of action movies, but I can’t remember any of those!

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    I’m rewatching Dead Like Me on Hulu. And maybe you should put together a top 10 Boston movies list?

    Like

  5. Myriam says:

    Those do sound good. I usually like brit verions of things better. I saw a movie over new years i am pretty sure it was called Dreamer, it a horse movie and im not usually an animal movie person but i actually ended up liking it and stopped my crossword to watch the movie. A and i watched pagemaster an old film but i had never seen it before, we both liked it.
    Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

