WIP Wednesday: Coming Clean

There has been kind of a lot of casting on and a lot of ignoring of the UFOs going on around here lately. It’s so easy to deny that something is getting a little hard or that stress is interfering with taking on a challenge. I’m going to lay it all out here.

I cast on some Fiddlehead Mittens a couple of weeks ago. I think my hands were cold at the time. I went great guns for a few days but then I sat them aside. I picked them up again at the end of last week and completed through the thumb gusset. I love this pattern and the idea of having super warm lined mittens is fantastic. Now I just have to knit them. The yarn is discussed here.

I needed something plain and simple for Knit Night so I cast on a sock. This is the yarn N gave me for Christmas. He is the best gift buyer. He really takes into consideration what each person likes and then shops accordingly. The yarn is Deborah Norville’s Serenity sock in Indigo. The pattern is the usual one from inside my head.

For my birthday I ordered the new Socktopus book. I like so many of the patterns in the book that I kind of cast one on without really thinking it through. This is the Kandahar pattern in Paton’s Kroy Socks in the grey brown marl color. I’m sure I’ll get back to it eventually.

I still have White Pine and Cassidy, my much neglected sweaters waiting for some attention. I will work on them this week, or next at the latest.

In the interest of complete disclosure, I am planning to cast on Blรกthnat, a mystery sock KAL taking place on the Sock Knitters Anonymous group. Yes, I admit I have a bit of a sock problem and I have joined a 12 step group! I am going to use Sensations Bamboo & Ewe yarn in purple.

Notice there has been no mention of the sock I was knitting in Tess Designer yarn. Check back Friday for an update on those.

Now that I have fully confessed and hopefully received absolution I can continue on with my knitting and not feel guilty.ย If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Coming Clean

  1. Nat says:

    Sometimes it is necessary to cast on lots of new things ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m terrible for doing it, and making up justifications for myself – and then I decided to give myself a break. There’s no one to tell me off if I don’t pick up a project for months, or cast on 20 new things instead!

    All of your projects look great, and they’ll get done when their time is right ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I, too, am planning to knit the new IGK design…if I can find the yarn I want (I need a semi-solid, non-variegated/self-striping and I know I have one in my stash somewhere…).

    I’ll have full disclosure on Saturday, I think…

    Like

  3. I have the yarn for the Fiddlehead Mittens sitting with the printed pattern, waiting to be started. I just have a couple of things to finish them I’m knitting them. It’s such a lovely pattern.

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Aw, I don’t think having lots of UFOs needs forgiveness. Encouragement and sympathy, possibly! That’s a lot of socks you’ve got there, though – I love the idea of a 12-step group. Do you think there’s one for all compulsive starters? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hope you get lots of knitting done now and have warm feet for the rest of the year ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  5. chrisknits says:

    I think we need to do a swap, socks for a shawl/scarf! That’s about the only way I will get a pair of handmade socks at this point.

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    I’ve got 2 baby blankets that are about 1/2 done. A pair of socks on the needles and a scarf and a cowl. And I’ve ordered yarn for 2 pair of mittens and 2 hats. You are not alone! I figure that if they have ZZZ (hibernation) on Ravelry I fully intend to use it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  7. isaida says:

    Wow – so many WIPs. I usually have one or two projects going, but that’s all I can handle!

    Love all your socks!

    Like

  8. Lee Ann says:

    So many great projects! I always think that lots of UFOs are good – you never know what you might want to work on, on any given day.

    PS – I love that you referred to knitted socks as something easy…I wonder if I will ever get to the point that a sock is easy…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  9. cleancup says:

    I’m so envious of your mitts! I saw that pattern, fell in love, and then became incredibly intimidated by the colorwork– it’s on my “skills to learn” list for sure.

    I agree with Lee Ann, lots of WIPs means you always have a project that fits the occasion.

    Like

  10. You seem to be making good progress on several fronts, so you have nothing to worry about. The Fiddleheads are gorgeous, and the Kandahar pattern for the socks looks very nice too. I think you’re wise to have something uncomplicated for knit night!

    Like

  11. Closeacademy says:

    I love the fiddlerhead mittens. Those colors are so pretty together.

    Like

  12. Erin-Kate says:

    Love your colorwork! Nothing is quite exciting like the promise of new projects! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  13. I absolve you :0)
    New Year, new beginnings!
    Willow4

    Like

Leave a Reply

