A Project That’s Likely To Fail

So here’s the plan: I’m going to cast on Fiddlehead mittens using yarn that isn’t really the gauge called for in the pattern on needles that are much smaller than the yarn recommends. One yarn is 100% wool (discontinued, picked up super cheap in 2 different visits to Coveted Yarn) and the other is 53% wool and 47% acrylic. I haven’t even picked out a yarn for the lining of the mittens yet but I’m leaning towards a lime green or a hot pink. Maybe electric blue. Whichever is the most eye searing. So do you think I’ll run into any trouble?

BIL Update: I saw him with my own eyes yesterday so I feel better about giving an update. He is still on a ventilator but was awake enough to nod his head. He knows where he is and that he’s really sick. The slowest possible progress is being made in a positive direction but he is there for the long hall. Continued good thoughts would be appreciated.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Project That’s Likely To Fail

  1. Marilyn says:

    The gauge thing could be a problem but can be solved with needle size. If your swatch doesn’t lie like mine always do!
    The different types of yarn might wash up differently from each other though and cause problems? I’m not sure if this is a possibility or not…
    Another prayer for your BIL has been said…

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Well if you get gauge then all the variables with yarn size and needle size won’t matter! I say go with hot pink for the lining! I made a pair of mittens similar to those (shades of gray) and used a bright purple for the lining 🙂

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    Gauge will depend upon how you knit = Could affect the sizing. I would knit a gauge swatch and try to match the gauge of the pattern esp if you want to fit the gloves. But unless you don’t care and will gift them to someone if they don’t fit your hands…
    Glad your bil is awake and alert. I’m sorry recovery is slow but great in the right direction.

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    You Are Ambitious!!! Good luck. And continued prayers for BIL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

