FO Friday: Socks And Such*

I finished my socks last night while laying in bed watching mindless TV, travel channel stuff like Man vs. Food Nation and The Layover to be specific. Yes, I kitchenered after dark. That’s so unlike me but I wanted you all to get a FO Friday post so I did it. Once I had taken the photo I left the socks on. It seems winter finally decided to arrive and now my feet are always cold. The yarn is Unplanned Peacock in snakeroot that was gifted to me by Beth when she visited last month. (It’s only been a month? It seems like eons ago.) Β It’s lovely yarn and I really have enjoyed both the knitting and the wearing. Yes, the socks are still on my feet this morning and I think that’s where they’ll spend the day. The pattern is just the one I keep in my head, a simple 2X2 ribbing for 1 1/2 inches followed by a plain stockinette sock with a heel flap. That’s what fits my hobbit feet best. What? You didn’t know I have hobbit feet? They are square, both 8 inches long and 8 inches around.

What will I cast on next? Good question. I can’t decide. I don’t have yarn for what I want to knit and I don’t feel like knitting any of the yarn I do have. Also Cassidy has been staring at me with that unloved look so I may finally have to get going with the seaming and such.

Question while I have more than 2 people reading: I have to sew some buttons to a hat. They are small buttons with tiny holes. Normally I would use yarn to sew on buttons. I tried to use one ply of yarn but of course it just pulled apart since it was basically fluff at that point. Do I dare use thread or will that cut through the yarn over time? This is a hat I’m donating and I really want to do what is the best way.

Now for the “such”. The FIL had his cardiac cath thing done yesterday and did wonderfully. He didn’t need a stent and was ready to go home that day as promised. That’s a huge relief in a string of worry. I haven’t heard about the BIL since day before yesterday. My MIL couldn’t get a signal on her phone while at hospital 2 to call hospital 1 at the usual time. She’s probably talked to them by now but hasn’t call us so I’m going with the no news is good news, or at least the same news.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

*I can’t tell you how much I wanted to use a different “s word” in the title along with socks.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, knits, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FO Friday: Socks And Such*

  1. Natalie says:

    *laughs at your want to use a different word* I know what you mean πŸ˜‰

    The socks look awesome, and I’m glad they’re keeping your feet nice and toasty. I knit while watching Man vs Food too πŸ˜‰

    Hope you come up with a plan of what to knit next!

    Like

  2. Nicky says:

    OOOOH i love their random pattern-ness. (is that a word?!?!)
    Well done.
    Nicky

    Like

  3. Kate says:

    button issue: what’s the make-up of your hat? Cotton? Acrylic? If you use a cotton yarn on natural fibers (or mostly natural), it would cut through the yarn.

    Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    Socks look wonderful! They match your jammies! πŸ˜€
    When I put buttons on any hand knit I put buttons on the inside also. Just plain clear plastic ones. It gives more stability and less chance of anything bad happening! I think that would solve the cutting through problem…

    Like

  5. Beth says:

    Had to read comments too for button tips. Excellent one Marilyn! I’d never have thought of that.

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    I have always sewn buttons on with thread. You can also use embroidery floss. Haven’t had one cut through the yarn yet. I use mostly wools, but also wool blends.

    Like

  7. Andria says:

    Interesting button help, I’m always looking for tips myself. I love your socks, the colours are so lovely. I love mindless knitting in front of the tv, it’s great!!

    Like

  8. Your socks look super. For sewing the buttons, you could use a single ply from the yarn, wet it and add a bit of twist, it will felt a little and the twist will stop it being fluffy and give it enough strength to be sewn with

    Like

  9. Kepanie says:

    Great socks! Your Kitchener toes are so neat and perfect.
    I am not an expert sewer but I would do needle and thread. I guess I wouldn’t pull so tight and I usually go through the holes at least three times and wind the thread around the sewn thread underneath the button a few times to keep that area strong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

