Memories Through Food

There is something about the holiday season and the food in particular that brings back memories from my childhood. When I was a kid my grandmother often had windmill cookies in her cookie jar. I saw these when I was shopping and thought my kids would like this culinary view into my childhood.

I always looked forward to sleeping at my grandmother’s when I was young. She used to cook special things that I didn’t get at home like baby lamb chops or corn chowder. Often for dessert we would have a windmill cookie and later a bit of Hershey chocolate. She always had a huge bar in her cupboard.

What do you remember from your childhood at this time of the year? Is there food intertwined with your memories?

BIL update: Things get worse before they get better right? There has been some additional problems which I suppose is to be expected when one has a systemic infection. He’s had some unexpected surgery and probably has more to come. I don’t want to go into too many details but good thoughts are necessary.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Memories Through Food

  1. Natalie says:

    I’ve still got my fingers crossed for your BIL.

    My Gran isn’t a particularly great cook, but she always used to leave sweets for me and my brother in the oak bureau which brings back happy memories whenever I visit šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    We always ate pork ribs on Christmas Eve and lutefisk on Christmas Day. My dad was the lutefisk cooker. Everything had to be timed out just right because my dad wanted to eat the instant the lutefisk was done. Of course, lutefisk does tend to get rubbery if it cooks too long… o.0

    Like

  3. elpalchica says:

    Mince pies and Christmas pudding are my main Christmas memory. I have bought my mincemeat, and my pudding is cooked!
    My parents are bringing Tayto Cheese and Onion crisps for me for Christmas. Heaven! (They’re essential any time of the year, but we would always get a big box at Christmas because of all the guests.)
    Of my grandparents I remember crispy (possibly burnt!) roast potatoes swimming in gravy, trifle, and Granddad would always buy us the most sugary breakfast cereal out there because he was diabetic and couldn’t eat it!
    We didn’t have Christmas with my other grandparents (big family), but my uncle always had excellent roast dinners, and “tea” would be a great fry-up of sausages and rashers (bacon) and Bird’s Eye potato waffles.
    My grandaunt made the best coffee cake ever, and as a kid I was very anti-coffee anything!

    Like

  4. Kate says:

    I love winmill cookies! Especially in a cup of tea— it’s a favorite memory of mine!

    Like

  5. chrisknits says:

    Sugar cookies my mom makes. And still does, so I continue to have a sugar rush each year.
    Good thoughts and prayers for your BIL.

    Like

  6. kathyiniowa says:

    How surprised I was when I saw those cookies. Those were the ones my dad would bring home to share with me! They were made by Archway. Black walnuts, as I remember them. Anyway – thanks for a trip down memory lane. My dad has been gone for nearly 20 years now, but not a day goes by that I don’t think of him. Today, we’ll share the thought of cookies! Nice …….

    Like

  7. I remember those cookies from my youth, as well…but I think we got them at daycare for snack.

    What I remember is a certain kind of pie that my grandmother used to make. I started taking over the making of said pie when she got Alzheimer’s and I got the recipe from her mouth before she forgot it so I know how to make it exactly right šŸ™‚

    But I still only make it at the holidays…

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    Sending good thoughts…

    Like

  9. lunathemoth says:

    This time of year, my grandmother and I would always make spritz cookies using the recipe her grandmother created back in Austria.

    Sending good thoughts for your brother in law.

    Like

Leave a Reply

