Tasty Tasty Denial

Would you believe once upon a time I had all my Christmas shopping done and wrapped before Thanksgiving? It’s true but I think I was a different person then, someone who was organized, cleaned the house and liked doing laundry. Now I keep waiting and putting it off. I tell myself that I save money this way but that isn’t necessarily true. Overnight shipping is super expensive.

There is one thing I’m always early to the holiday shopping for and that is the holiday candy. Last week when I went to the commissary (the husband is retired military, shopping at the commissary aka military grocery store is a benefit) I leisurely strolled through the holiday aisles (they have more than one with lots of imported treats from Europe) I spied this box of mints, a US product! I remember having a candy when I was a child that was hard candy on the outside and chocolate in the middle. I picked this up thinking it would be an inferior copy of the original from my memories. I was wrong. These mints are delicious. They call to me day and night from the kitchen. And because they are small I answer their call. I must get back to the commissary for another box.

What treat do you remember from your childhood? What holiday candy are you enjoying?

BIL update: Things are pretty much the same though his numbers are tending better. We keep waiting to see what the doctors will do next.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tasty Tasty Denial

  1. Marilyn says:

    Those candies look wonderful! The candy that I remember from when I was a kid are hard candies and especially the mixed kind with the ribbon candies in it. I don’t even know if I liked it that much but we always had some every year and it is a fond memory…
    A prayer for the doctors has been said…

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    I’m trying to think if there is any specific holiday sweeties I remember… We always used to buy one of the big tins of Quality Street, which I may not have to add to my shopping list 😉

    Like

  3. Kate says:

    We always shopped “on the base” b/c my grampy was ex-military. 🙂 My grandparents always had the BEST candy!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    All I remember are Bottle Caps, Sweet Tarts, Smarties, and Hershey’s Kisses along with Snicker’s bars.

    Like

  5. Susan says:

    I remember those too! I used to love getting a book of Lifesaver candies in my stocking at Christmas. My favorites were the tangerine ones.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.