FO Friday: IOU A Real Blocking

The dark spots are wet not discoloration.

Dear Hey Teach Sweater.

I know it has taken me forever to finish you. I don’t even dare to look back and see how long ago you were cast on. I will guess a year but I suspect it’s closer to two. Knitting you was simple. The pattern was straight forward and the lace simple and easy to remember. I knew knitting a sweater in pieces *could* present a problem for me since I am not a fan of seaming. I thought you would be totally worth it though. A short sleeve cotton sweater was a major gap in my closet and I knew you’d get lots of wear. Unfortunately I got stuck at that seaming phase.

Happily now you are completed. Yes, I know the seams aren’t perfect and the ones under the arms are a bit bulky but you are wearable. Sometimes that is the most important thing. I know I whipped those buttons on rather quickly way too early in the morning but they’ll hold for a single wearing. I promise you will get a real blocking and the buttons will be reattached if needed.

I have just one thing to ask. Please dry quickly. We have a wedding to attend tomorrow.

Karen, your knitter.

FYI: The yarn is Cotton-Ease in lake. The pattern is Hey Teach. The buttons are from the button box and I have no idea where they came from. 

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

~ by nothingbutknit2 on May 25, 2012.

11 Responses to “FO Friday: IOU A Real Blocking”

  1. Hurray!!! Looks great! I’ve been trying to tackle my UFO pile recently but haven’t made much progress.

  2. Lovely project. I hope it dries in time!

  3. I hope it dries in time for you, it’s really pretty! I’d hate to see it miss the big wedding!

  4. Turn a fan on it. It really helps to dry things faster.
    Enjoy the wedding!

  5. Yay you finished it! Since you’re waiting for it to dry, I should tell you that I looked up the care instructions for Cotton-Ease, and you can stick it in the dryer. In case all else fails

  6. You will be the best dressed at the wedding! :-)

  7. Stick it in the dryer or blast it with a hair dryer! I’m sending you “hurry up and dry” vibes. :)

  8. Maybe you can put a gentle oscillating fan a few feet away? Pretty sweater! Have fun at the wedding!

  9. ‘Tis lovely :) If you’re looking for some “help” drying it, try having a fan blow toward it…or take out the trusty hair dryer on a low-heat setting. Just a thought.

  10. It looks good, Karen. Can you put it in some filtered sunlight?
    I want to see it on you w/that lovely dress!

  11. Sometimes sweaters take up a little extra bit of time, but then they often turn out even better than you expected. This one certainly did! Wear it proudly and have a great time at the wedding!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

